Trending News
Most Trending News Political News

What is Fresh BODO Agreement..?

Spread the love

Home Minister signs peace deal with the banned organization of Assam NDFB. The long-standing interest of a separate land in the northeast is expected to stop. Four parties attempting separate Bodoland in Assam should decide to leave the path of destruction.

On Monday, the NDFB inserted into an alliance with the Assam state in the occupation of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, under which Bodoland will no longer be solicited. A separate state was being led by the National Democratic Federation of Bodoland (NDFB), but the picture completely changed after the government took a tough stand.

Separatist groups capitulated

The decision is being taken between the Union Home Ministry and Bodo organizations when hundreds of separatists surrendered two days ago. A total of 644 militants belonging to eight banned organizations of Assam surrendered before the state Chief Minister Sabarnand Sonowal on Thursday.

They related to ULFA (I), NDFB, RNLF, KLO, CPI (Maoist), NSLA, ADF and NLFB.

The government today approved an agreement with the National Democratic Front of Bodoland — the dreaded activist group from Assam — which, Union minister Amit Shah stated, will “help improve the Bodo area and Assam”.

Calling it a “memorable agreement,” Amit Shah stated the agreement will be permanent as it includes all stakeholders.

We will leave no stone unturned to fulfil the agreement… all the agreements will be fulfilled appropriate,” he continued.


  • This is the third Bodo accord to be employed in the last 27 years when the violent campaign for a separate Bodoland state claimed numbers of lives, loss of public and private properties.
  • The first Bodo accord was signed with the All Bodo Students Union (ABSU) in 1993, pointing to the origin of a Bodoland Autonomous Council with short political powers.
  • In 2003, the second Bodo accord was approved with the militant group Bodo Liberation Tigers (BLT), leading to the development of a Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) with four regions of Assam —Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baska and Udalguri — called the Bodoland Territorial Area District (BTAD).

The BTC has power over 30 subjects like reading, forests, horticulture but no jurisdiction on the police, revenue and general administration departments, which are controlled by the Assam government.

The BTC was established under the 6th Record of the Constitution. The demand for a separate land for the Bodos has been going on in Assam for about five decades and numerous Bodo overground and aggressive groups growing it starting to disturbances, demonstrations, disorder and many losses.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy